MuteSight

insights of an introvert


You can fail at what you don’t want

Facing failure is a huge bummer for most people. I feel that most about everyone remember the first time they failed. And, then, it hurts like hell when you fail in your dreams. But, last week, I learned about the hurt of failing at what you don’t even want.

Photo by Luis Quintero on Pexels.com

I heard this titular quote in an interview of Jim Carrey. It was quite impactful the first time I heard it and I remember dreading such consequences. Recently, when I actually failed at a project in my day job, it was truly heartbreaking. This heartbreak is not just induced by the failure, it is caused due to priority I had given to this job besides having dreams. It is sorrowful to give up your dreams and put in eight or more hours for a day job and still fail at that.

The sadness of failure depends on the time you spent on the task. The task consumes you and becomes important just because you spend a lot of time working on it, even though unwillingly. This might sound like a wake-up call to quit my day job and spent my energy on my dreams. Realistically speaking, however, I would work hard on my day job to prove myself that I am capable of doing this. This might be in an endeavor to feed my ego. It could very possibly be the perfectionist in me that wants to be good at everything. Frankly, the financial factor plays an equally important role in this motivation.

On the other hand, I feel I need to give time to my dreams and my goals besides my professional life. It would also be like gaining validation or satisfaction from something else than a day job. There is satisfaction in completing and conquering whatever life throws at you, but the pleasure and satisfaction of bringing your dreams to life must be incomparable. This post is dedicated to all those dreamers who are trying to find their way in this muddle of life.



One response to “You can fail at what you don’t want”

  1. Absolutely right 👍

Leave a comment